skip to Main Content

How was your experience?

    positive review  Amazing!! Love the concept of this store and cooking. Laura is just amazing.

    thumb Jillian Nicole
    9/27/2018

    5 star review  Nice..

    thumb Hemant Kumar
    6/27/2018

    5 star review  Great private cooking school session with friends for my birthday was an amazing way to celebrate. Food was awesome and the staff was stellar.

    thumb Eric Range
    5/19/2018

    5 star review  Have loved this store over the past year - always a source of Italian specialties. Tonight was a first - Ladies Night Out cooking class with my cousin, Pat. Healthy and delicious. Had a great time. Owner, Laura, and her two assistants were just so sweet and gracious - sharing recipes, and cooking techniques, giving us a delicious evening. Highly recommend. Can't wait to take another class with Bella Laura. Ciao!

    thumb Laurie Pellegrino
    4/12/2018

    5 star review  Great cooking school. Laura was the best instructor. Had a wonder afternoon there! Bravo!!

    thumb Carl Santiago
    3/19/2018

    5 star review  I was here last night with a friend. I can't even tell you how much fun we had while learning some old school straight from Italy family recipes. I you have not been here yet, it is a great night out. The staff is super nice, food is delicious, and you can bring in wine. ūüôā

    thumb Peggy Hopkins
    3/15/2018

    5 star review  The food at Healthy Italia is delicious, beautiful and healthy. They have imported delicacies that are hard to find in the US. I highly recommend checking them out!

    thumb Manzella-Marchitto Lois
    11/15/2017

    5 star review  I recently attended a team building event at Healthy Italia and absolutely loved it. We chose to learn to make ravioli with an eggplant and tomato sauce. Laura is a delight! He is quite engaging, funny, and made the entire event very special. The kitchen was immaculate and the food was amazing. They use only the finest fresh ingredients, all imported from Italy, and I thoroughly enjoyed all of the tastings. Laura not only explains how to make the dish, but takes the time to explain the origin of the meal, and gives a mini Italian lesson while doing it. My coworkers and I all agreed that this was the best team building event we'd ever attended. I will definitely go back on my own for their other cooking events.

    thumb Kelly Bennett Ceransky
    9/22/2017

    5 star review  Awesome shop. Excellent products from Italy and very nice and knowledgeable owner. Highly recommend it!

    thumb Virginie Delwart
    8/19/2017

    5 star review  This place by far is one of the best places in New Jersey. I had them do a private dinner for 2 for me and my wife in which we were able to be make our own meal with the instructor and it was amazing. From the food quality to the ambience and service you can't find a better place. I would give them 10 stars if I could. They have a huge selection products that come in weekly straight from Italy from fine cheeses to pastas so you know it's the best. Thanks Cristina for an amazing night

    thumb Robert Praizner
    5/29/2017

    5 star review  Have attended two of Laura's classes now: The first was her pasta essentials class where we made our own pasta from 00 flour, later to be used to make both tagliatelle and two types of cheese ravioli. We also made meatballs in fresh tomato sauce, and a light tomato/eggplant/red onion/cheese sauce thickened with water from cooking the pasta. The second was her risotto class, where we made both a cheese risotto, and a shrimp/vegetable risotto. Both classes were excellent, the perfect mix of fun, italian culinary history and technique. Laura makes everything a joy, and even neophytes succeed in here classes. I heartily recommend them!

    thumb John C. Fusi
    4/16/2017

    5 star review  Attended the Risotto Workshop and learned so much in addition to having a fantastic meal and fun with new friends! Laura was knowledgeable and engaging teaching us how to master delicious risotto. They have a beautiful kitchen and amazing store with every Italian import you might want! Loved it!!!

    thumb Susan La Bella
    4/15/2017

    5 star review  This is a wonderful shop, owned by young (but extremely knowledgable) Italian people. All the products--food & cookware-- are imported from Italy. There is a cooking studio as well. I just attended a tasting of Balsamic vinegars -- & what a difference in taste between those unaged ones & the 3 year one! Lovely appetizers to taste them out on. A favorite store!

    thumb Sally Stocker
    4/04/2017

    5 star review  My son and I attended their children's cooking class. The setup was lovely. We were greeted by Laura, our instructor and her husband. The table was set, we were offered espresso and antipasti. Then the cooking began. Laura and her assistant, Christina were incredibly patient and fun. The best part? Eating our creations. The kids were amazed that something they had made turned out so good. On the way out my son turned to me and asked, when's our next class?! I'm thinking of getting a few friends together for an adult class.

    thumb Tricia Sciarillo Kranz
    3/05/2017

      When Healthy Italia opened in Madison, home cooking was elevated to an art form. Importing individually sourced products from Italy, it is a must go for olive oil, vinegar and all the essentials.
    You can also have a  "hands on"  experience in their demonstration kitchen. The instructions are fun, and you get to enjoy the fruits of your labor.
    Healthy Italia has become a fixture in Madison. Come and see it for yourself!

    thumb Maureen B.
    4/10/2019

      What a beautiful store! The owner is super friendly and he has an amazing selection of Italian pastas (including gluten free choices), sauces, condiments, and housewares. There is also a refrigerated section of cheeses and fresh foods.

    The store also features cooking classes, with many programs including date night, ladies night out and kids programs. I can't wait to try out one of their classes!

    thumb Cindy C.
    4/06/2019

      If I could give this place 10 stars, I would. ¬†6 girlfriends arranged to take our friend who just turned 50 to a cooking class as her gift. ¬†Carla helped me plan the party and arrange our menu. ¬†Our teacher was Laura who could not have been more gracious or fun. The kitchen is beautifully set up and sparkling clean. ¬†Laura welcomed us with a glass of Prosecco and ¬†appetizers such as sliced tomato with burrata, raddichio salad, sliced meats and cheeses with their delicious flavored honeys and jams imported from Italy and homemade breadsticks. ¬† Then, we made a delicious ricotta gnocchi with mushroom truffle sauce and topped off our lunch with a delicious dessert of grilled pears and apricots along with biscotti and their home made chocolate cake. There was so much food and they graciously provided us with containers to take home our leftovers. ¬† We also shopped in the beautiful store in front and we all went home with new pots and pans! It was a perfect day for a very special birthday. ¬†I highly recommend La Buona Cucina. ¬†We will be back! Ciao!

    thumb Andrea L.
    3/11/2019

      This wonderful gathering with others that share the love of cooking, Italia and warm ambiance was a Christmas gift from our children. ¬†This was by far the best gift!

    The kitchen "classroom" is amazing, a chef's dream.  The instructions were clear, easy to follow and lead everyone to a successful outcome  making ravioli.

    You will feel like a pro when you are finished with a full belly and a doggie bag to go home with.

    Repeat visit planned in not too distant future!

    thumb Maggie M.
    2/14/2019

      This is the best cooking class I've been to since I was in Paris and it was the kids cooking class!
    I cannot wait to try one of the adult ones.
    Seriously first class and delicious!!!!!!

    thumb Staci B.
    9/19/2018

      Fabulous store, warm, friendly service. I want to buy everything they have. The store is beautiful and immaculately clean. Everyone is so friendly and helpful! Amazing selection of products.

    thumb Sue M.
    7/21/2018

      I celebrated my 50th here recently. Working with everyone involved to pull off the event was a joy. Lauren and crew accommodated changes to the menu and headcount right up until the morning of the party (not sure if I was supposed to advertise this part). We had the entire store to ourselves, and everyone had a great experience: the food was fantastic, the cooking fun, and the service exceptional. Oh, and if having an event here, ask them to make you their off-menu chocolate cake; like the store, a hidden gem. Thank you for a great memory!

    thumb Tony S.
    4/12/2018

      Laura explained things so well and made us use Italian! ūüôā We were a small group but it was perfect because we got to interact so much. Making fresh pasta from scratch is highly recommended!

    thumb Kristen F.
    3/19/2018

      I cannot possibly put into words how wonderful Healthy Italia is.

    We held an event there for my company on a Tuesday night. They set up a long table for us in the middle of the store and accomodated a group of just over 20. We made tagliatelle from scratch with eggplant and tomato, pork loin with honey and balsamic, and riso al latte (with this incredible pistachio spread!). We were also provided with a welcoming prosecco toast and antipasto. The owners were so kind and great at teaching each recipe in detail. They shared stories of their lives in Italy and how their grandma's used to make this food for them. We had SUCH a fun time. They also extended a discount to anyone who wanted to shop that night (and shop we did). After the event, they emailed us the recipes so we can make the dishes we learned at home. This event totally exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to return and learn how to cook something new!

    thumb Brooke O.
    2/27/2018

      Recently went here for a cooking/food event and it was awesome. Everything here is so delicious, the staff is so pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend! And, got a few things in the shop. Great selection and worth a visit!

    thumb J. L.
    2/23/2018

      My wife threw a surprise birthday for me here recently and we could not have been happier with the whole experience. ¬†The party for 12 people included appetizers, a pasta-making class, dinner (we ate the pasta we made from scratch), and dessert. ¬†The staff was professional and pleasant and we never felt rushed. ¬†The food was delicious! I highly recommend Healthy Italia for a private party --- you won't be disappointed!

    thumb Paul S.
    2/19/2018

      Just had a wonderful cooking instruction session and lunch at Healthy Italia. Excellent instruction by Laura and wonderful selection of items for antipasto, then delicious carbonara and beautiful yummy dessert. The ingredients are fresh and the results are fabulous. We were a group of ten and had a great time.

    thumb Ml B.
    11/18/2017

      Healthy Italia put on an amazing private event for my 50th birthday! From the moment we stepped in the door to our goodbye we were treated to an amazing culinary and cultural experience. The menu was personalized to our needs and everything was so deliciously prepared. The service was wonderful. Everyone was super friendly. ¬†All of my friends raved about how this was such a unique and fun experience. Thank you Healthy Italia for making this such a memorable occasion!!
    PS-- love doing all my gift shopping with you. The gifts are always such a big hit!!!

    thumb Sonia Z.
    9/27/2017

      I was invited to an event at Healthy Italia and it was just wonderful. We made a four course dinner that was delicious. Laura, the owner and chef was a terrific teacher and fully explained everything we were doing. ¬†The class was fun and everyone was engaged. A great night out and a terrific way to spend time with friends or business associates.

    thumb Jane M.
    9/14/2017
Back To Top